Hot Deals Subscribe Now
Surfindia » Sports » Football » Teams » Indian

Indian Football Team

Known as the 'soccer powerhouse' in the South Asian Football Federation region, the Indian National Football Team is the 117th ranked team in the FIFA World Rankings (April 2006). This team is controlled by the All India Football Federation (AIFF) which was founded in 1937.

The team enjoyed better times in the past. They qualified for the 1950 World Cup, finished 4th in the football tournament at the 1956 Melbourne Olympics, won gold medal in Asian Games 1962 and finished 4th and 3rd in 1966 and 1970 Asian Games respectively. But now, qualifying for the Asian Cups or the World Cups seems some distance away.

The rising popularity of cricket and poor sponsorship have led to a lack of quality players in the National Team. However, Nike has signed a deal of seven-year sponsorship in February 2006. Recently started, the national league games are also being televised.

Current List of Indian Football (Soccer) Team Players 2010
Subrata Pal
Subhasish Roy Chowdhury
Arindam Bhattacharya
Anwar Ali
Deepak Kumar Mondal
Mahesh Gawli
Irungbam Surkumar Singh
Nallappan Mohanraj
Gouramangi Singh
Samir Subash Naik
Moirangthem Govin Singh
Rakesh Masih
Naduparambil Pappachan Pradeep
P. Renedy Singh
Steven Dias
Mehrajuddin Wadoo
Anthony Pereira
Clifford Miranda
Syed Rahim Nabi
Climax Lawrence
James Lukram Singh
Jagpreet Singh
Baldeep Singh Junior
Sunil Chhetri
Baichung Bhutia
M. Mohammed Rafi
Abhishek Yadav
Sushil Kumar Singh
Baljit Sahni
View Profile of Famous National Football (Soccer) Teams

Tell a Friend

Surfindia Network :  Directory  |  Finance  |  Automobile  |  Celebrities  |  Travel  |  Recipes  |  Festivals  |  Astrology  |  Matrimonials  |  Sports  |  Football  |  Cricket  |  Mobile  |  Games  |  India Fact  |  States
About Us  |  Contact Us  |  Terms & Conditions  |  Disclaimer
Copyright © 2014 SurfIndia (A premier directory of India). All Rights Reserved.