Surfindia » Celebrities » Bollywood » Directors » Yash Chopra

Yash Chopra

Yash Raj Chopra Personal Profile (Personal Biography)
Date of Birth:  27 September 1932
Place of Birth: Jalandhar (Punjab), India
Father's Name: Vilayati Raj Chopra
Spouse: Pamela
Children: Aditya Chopra & Uday Chopra

Career Highlights
Started His Film Career:  As an assistant to I. S. Johar, and then for his director-producer brother, Baldev Raj Chopra. Debut Film: Dhool Ka Phool (1959).
Film Production House: In the year 1970 Yash Raj Chopra set up his own film production house Yash Raj Films and Daag (1973) was the first movie under this banner.
Film Career (Filmography)
List of Films Directed By Yash Chopra
Veer-Zaara (2004), Dil To Pagal Hai (1997), Darr (1993), Lamhe (1991), Chandni (1989), Faasle (1985), Mashaal (1984), Silsila (1981), Kaala Patthar (1979), Trishul (1978), Kabhi Kabhie (1976), Deewar (1975), Joshila (1973), Daag (1973), Ittefaq (1969), Aadmi Aur Insaan (1969), Waqt (1965), Dharmputra (1961), Dhool Ka Phool (1959) List of Films Produced By Yash Chopra
Pyaar Impossible (2010), Rocket Singh: Salesman of the Year (2009), Dil Bole Hadippa (2009), New York (2009), Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi (2008), Roadside Romeo (2008), Bachna Ae Haseeno (2008), Thoda Pyaar Thoda Magic (2008), Tashan (2008), Aaja Nachle (2007), Laaga Chunari Mein Daag (2007), Chak De India (2007), Jhoom Barabar Jhoom (2007), Ta Ra Rum Pum (2007), Kabul Express (2006), Dhoom 2 (2006), Fanaa (2006), Neal N Nikki (2005), Salaam Namaste (2005), Bunty Aur Babli (2005), Veer-Zaara (2004), Dhoom (2004), Hum Tum (2004), Saathiya (2002), Mohabbatein (2000), Dil To Pagal Hai (1997), Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge (1995), Yeh Dillagi (1994), Darr (1993), Lamhe (1991), Chandni (1989), Silsila (1981), Kaala Pathar(1979), Noorie(1979), Doosra Aadmi(1977), Kabhi Kabhie(1976), Daag (1973)

Awards & Recognitions
National Award for "Best Film for Providing popular and Wholesome Entertainment":
Veer-Zaara (2004)
Dil To Pagal Hai (1997)
Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge (1995)
Darr (1994)
Chandni (1989)
Dharmputra (1962, President's Gold Medal)
Filmfare Awards
Filmfare Best Director Award, Waqt (1965)
Filmfare Best Director Award, Ittefaq (1969)
Filmfare Best Director Award, Daag (1973)
Filmfare Best Director Award, Deewar (1975)
Filmfare Best Movie Award, Deewar (1975)
Filmfare Best Movie Award, Lamhe (1991)
Filmfare Best Movie Award, Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge (1995)
Filmfare Best Movie Award, Dil To Pagal Hai (1997)
Filmfare Best Movie Award, Veer-Zaara (2004)
Filmfare Power Award (2006)
Filmfare Power Award (2007)
Filmfare Power Award (2008)
  • In July 2008 He was honoured with the 'Legion d'Honneur'-- the highest French civilian award.
  • In year 2001 Yash Chopra was conferred with the Dada Saheb Phalke Award which is the top most award of Indian film industry.
  • Yash Raj Chopra is the Vice President of the Film Producers Guild of India.
  • He is on the Advisory Board of the Information & Broadcasting Ministry of the Government of India.
  • Founder Trustee of Film Industry Welfare Trust.
  • Only Indian Film Producer and Director to receive the BBC Asia Awards for two times in year 1998 and 2001.
  • Honoured with the Dr. Dadabhai Naoroji Millennium Lifetime Achievement in 2001.
  • Awarded with various recognitions by top houses of Indian industries like CII (Confederation of Indian Industry), NAASCOM (National Association of Software and Service Companies) and AIAI (All India Association of Industries).

View More Bollywood Directors

Web Resources
Yash Raj Films: Official website link to the film production house founded by Yash Chopra.

Surfindia Network :  Finance  |  Automobile  |  Celebrities  |  Recipes  |  Matrimonials  |  States
About Us  |  Contact Us  |  Terms & Conditions  |  Disclaimer
© SurfIndia. All Rights Reserved.